Douglas County raises fire restrictions

Dry conditions and recent fires spur Stage 2 restrictions

Staff report
Posted 3/14/17

In response to dry conditions and the occurrence of several fires throughout Colorado, Douglas County Sheriff Tony Spurlock has increased fire restrictions to Stage 2, which prohibits:

• Open burning of any kind

• Use of fireworks

• …

This item is available in full to subscribers.

Please log in to continue

E-mail
Password
Log in

Don't have an ID?


Print subscribers

If you're a print subscriber, but do not yet have an online account, click here to create one.

Non-subscribers

Click here to see your options for becoming a subscriber.

If you’re a print subscriber or made a voluntary contribution in Nov. 2016-2017, but do not yet have an online account, click here to create one at no additional charge. VIP Digital Access Includes access to all websites


Our print publications are advertiser supported. For those wishing to access our content online, we have implemented a small charge so we may continue to provide our valued readers and community with unique, high quality local content. Thank you for supporting your local newspaper.

Douglas County raises fire restrictions

Dry conditions and recent fires spur Stage 2 restrictions

Posted

In response to dry conditions and the occurrence of several fires throughout Colorado, Douglas County Sheriff Tony Spurlock has increased fire restrictions to Stage 2, which prohibits:

• Open burning of any kind

• Use of fireworks

• Use of fires in chimineas, other portable fireplaces or patio fire pits

• Campfires at developed campgrounds or picnic areas

Some activities are still allowed:

• Fires within liquid-fueled or gas-fueled stoves, grills, fire pits or other gas or liquid-fueled appliances.

• Residential use of charcoal grill fires when such use is supervised by a person at least 18 years of age.

• Fires contained within fireplaces and wood-burning stoves within buildings only.

• Fire suppression or fire department training fires.

Those who violate the fire restrictions may be finedup to $1,000.

Castle Rock Fire and Rescue took similar precautions on March 10, implementing Stage 2 fire restrictions. The department has measured fire danger at high or extreme for 10 days. People found to be in violation of the town's fire restrictions may be fined $1,000, receive 180 days in jail or both.

Comments

No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment