State of the County

Douglas County commissioners highlight ARPA fund designations in annual State of the County

Water and wastewater gets $35M

Haley Lena
Posted 11/16/22

In honor of the multi-generational impacts of the public services to Douglas County, the State of the County lunch was held Nov. 16. to celebrate the 20 years of partnership in Douglas County and the plans for federal funds.

This item is available in full to subscribers.

Please log in to continue

Log in

Don't have an ID?

Print subscribers

If you're a print subscriber, but do not yet have an online account, click here to create one.


Click here to see your options for becoming a subscriber.

If you made a voluntary contribution in 2021-2022, but do not yet have an online account, click here to create one at no additional charge. VIP Digital Access includes access to all websites and online content.

Our print publications are advertiser supported. For those wishing to access our content online, we have implemented a small charge so we may continue to provide our valued readers and community with unique, high quality local content. Thank you for supporting your local newspaper.
State of the County

Douglas County commissioners highlight ARPA fund designations in annual State of the County

Water and wastewater gets $35M


In honor of the multi-generational impacts of public services to Douglas County, the annual State of the County address focused on the 20 years of partnership and the commissioners distribution of federal funds.

Douglas County Commissioners George Teal, Abe Laydon and Lora Thomas came together to speak about the intentions of the county’s $68.2 million in American Rescue Plan Act funds, or ARPA, during the Nov. 16 event.

Teal said the ARPA funding decisions were based on five investment principles focused on ensuring a legacy benefit, responding to immediate needs, being forward-looking, integrating board core priorities, avoiding duplication and leverage partnerships.

“These investment areas were informed by consultations with stakeholders, citizen in business community engagement, including live town meetings,” said Thomas.

Based on the investment principles, Douglas County has seven priority investment areas where ARPA funds will be distributed.

The largest investment is in water and wastewater with $35.7 million in allocated funds.

As wildfires are one of the biggest threats in Douglas County, public safety was the first priority listed by the three commissioners who took turns speaking at the event held at the Denver Marriot in Lone Tree.

The commission announced an investment of $3.6 million in ARPA funds for wildfire suppression and mitigation.

With this year marking the 20th anniversary of the county's Developmental Disabilities Mill Levy Douglas County, commissioners recognized the mutually beneficial partnerships and investments, including programs and services to help those with intellectual and developmental disabilities.

The county committed $6.7 million in funds to programs aimed at helping citizens with intellecutal and development disabilities.

Abe Laydon introduced the ARPA fund investments for homelessness, comitting $1.17 million for the Douglas County homeless initiative.

Mental health programs remain a priority in the county, as commissioners dedicated $9.6 million to the program originally started in 2019.

In commuinty and economic investments, the counthy committed just over $5 million in ARPA funds.

Improving broadband technology was labled as priority this year, with an $8 million investment.

As the population continues to increase in Douglas County, commissioners said maintaining and improving transporation is a priority. With a population of more than 369,000 and growing, commissioners said they remain dedicated to building and expanding roadways, including the US 85 expansion that is now under construction.

In concluding the 2022 event, commissioners thanked outgoing elected officials, including Recorder and Clerk Merlin Klotz,; Coroner Jill Romann,; Assessor Lisa Frizell; and Sheriff Tony Spurlock.

These outgoing elected officials will end their term in January of 2023.

Also recognized were the unofficial newly elected representatives, including Coroner Raeann Brown; Clerk and Recorder Sheri Davis, Assessor Toby Damisch; Treasurer Dave Gill; and Sheriff Darren Weekly.

douglas county news, abe laydon, george teal, lora thomas, douglas county arpa funds


Our Papers

Ad blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an ad blocking plugin in your browser.

The revenue we receive from our advertisers helps make this site possible. We request you whitelist our site.