Poage, Toborg, Williams elected to Parker Town Council


Cheryl Poage, with 14.3 percent of the vote, and Jeff Toborg (12.8 percent) will join the Parker Town Council, according to unofficial election results posted at about 9 p.m. on Election Night. Incumbent Renee Williams took the third-most votes (12.2 percent) and will serve another four years on council.

Todd Hendreks, Danielle Ozaluk and Terry Dodd were the next top three vote-getters. Hendreks had 11.5 percent, Ozaluk 10.1 percent and Dodd 10.1 percent.

Toborg, who ran unsuccessfully in 2016 and campaigned on spurring the business community in Parker, was excited at the results. He had gone bowling and was spending Election Night with his family.

"I'm ready to roll up my sleeves for the Town of Parker," he said. "I'm excited to join the team of town councilmembers already in place and ready to learn a lot and work hard. Everything I do will be done on behalf of the people of Parker."

Williams ran on continuing the success the town has seen in recent years.

"I would say everything we've been working on with town council has been phenomenal," said Williams, who was celebrating at a watch party at the Parker Garage restaurant. "I want to keep us moving in the same direction and I want to thank all the candidates who have run."

Poage, at a restaurant with her family, has said a main focus for her would be traffic easement.

"(My constituents) really want to look at the growth issue and re-evaluate where we're going with growth," said Poage, an instructor for the National Fire Academy and South Metro Safety Foundation.

Because council seats are elected at-large — rather than by districts as with some other area councils — the three candidates with the most votes win seats.

The council comprises six members, who are elected for four-year terms.

Here's how candidates were faring on Election Night:

Cheryl Poage: 14.4 percent (6,853)

Jeff Toborg: 12.7 percent (6,073)

Renee Williams: 12.2 percent (5,805)

Todd Hendreks: 11.5 percent (5,495)

Danielle Ozaluk: 10.1 percent (4,800)

Terry Dodd: 10 percent (4,773)

Elissa Flaumenhaft: 9.2 percent (4,367)

Stephen Curtis: 8 percent (3,841)

Michelle René Kelly: 7.1 percent (3,373)

Robert Mark Ihrig: 5 percent (2,365)


Our Papers

Ad blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an ad blocking plugin in your browser.

The revenue we receive from our advertisers helps make this site possible. We request you whitelist our site.